Sunday = Good.

22 May

Today started off really well. Actually, no. Today started off with a whining puppy who I could hear from our room downstairs. Listening to a puppy whine is like hearing a baby cry one of those pathetic cries – you. cannot. ignore. it. Did I mention this was at 6am? On a Sunday? Not unlike a baby, Charlie is so damn cute that I can’t even be annoyed – he was just so happy to see me.

So after that, the day started off really well. I took my oldest daughter for a looooong slow run. You can find out a lot about your daughter’s world on an 8 mile run. I can’t begin to describe how much I treasure the time I get to spend with my children one on one. We talk about life, we take in the nature around us, notice the people who are also out and about. We saw the most incredible bird – it was small, like a sparrow, and black and the orange of a safety vest. We joked that he was the bird crossing guard. We finished up where all runs must finish: the doughnut store. A couple of iced teas, coffee rolls and a yogurt later, all seems right with the world.

Since today has turned out to be an absolutely gorgeous day – we finally got the vegetable garden planted. Last year, I went a little crazy and planted more than should have reasonably been squeezed in there so this year I tried to exercise restraint at the nursery.

We planted three different lettuces, zucchini, peas, two kinds of tomatoes, two kinds of peppers (in containers), carrots and cucumbers. I also planted basil and parsley in another container.

How cute is that tiny leaf basil? It reminds me of boxwood but it smells delicious.

My husband and I are having a little debate over the tomato frames. I think they go with the big round side down – better to hold up the plant without falling over – and he thinks they go stakes into the ground. So, dear readers, which way is correct? (I really wanted to phrase that question as: I’m right, right?)

I intend to make a concerted effort to plan more meals this summer with food out of my own garden and from the local farmer’s markets. I joined a CSA one summer two years ago, but I found I ended up with a lot of things my family doesn’t eat that much of. Kale and turnips – I’m talking to you. Have any of you ever joined a CSA? What was your experience? I’d love to hear from you.

4 Responses to “Sunday = Good.”

  1. cheryl May 28, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    We joined a CSA last year. Definitely agree about the kale and turnips. However, we wanted organic produce and, unlike you, i do not have the time or energy to grow my own. So, im stuck with CSA. Our thursday nite salads are incredible. I think they’re great- affordable for the amount of veggies you get. we split with a friend. I would much prefer my own garden with exactly what we want, but no time ;(

    • sewrunlaugh May 29, 2011 at 1:38 am #

      That’s a great idea – splitting with a friend. There are some veggies you can plant in pots that do quite well – trust me, I don’t grow anything that’s high maintenance because I would kill it! Thanks for commenting!

  2. Rebecca May 31, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Stakes in the ground. Believe me, those babies are gonna need to be firmly stuck in the soil come August.

    • Beth - Realist Mom May 31, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

      Shhhh! I don’t want to mu husband to know he was rrr…rrr… not wrong!

I love to hear from you!

