Summer smells

29 May

Having grown up in Brooklyn as a renter, there really wasn’t too much in the way of gardening happening during my childhood. (I do play a killer game of stoop ball, though.) It’s an incredible gift to own a home on a piece of property large enough to hold our vegetable beds, and some gardens and still have room for the kids to run around. Sometimes, in the evenings, I listen to the wind rustling through the leaves on the trees and I can’t believe my good fortune.

Early summer brings the most amazing scents to the yard. The rear of the yard has a line of lilacs that smell incredible. The dogs and the kids haven’t been too kind to them and yet they bloom year after year.

In the corner of the yard, near the gate I’m pretty sure the puppy is escaping through, is another large bush. I think it’s some kind of azalea, but the smell is like something from an exotic tropical island. It blooms beautifully, but briefly. Any ideas what this is?

What smells do you love?

4 Responses to “Summer smells”

  1. Sarah May 31, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Three things: (1) lilacs; (2) fresh basil; and (3) fresh tomatoes from the garden (late summer)!

    • Beth - Realist Mom May 31, 2011 at 8:56 am #

      Those are some of my favorites too – especially when the tomatoes and basil are paired with mozzarella!

  2. Jackie Lee June 1, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    Lilac is one of my very favorite smells. When I moved here I went to my grandma’s house and dug out a piece, and transplanted it in my yard. It’s blooming wonderfully these years and I just love it. (I no longer have my Grandma, but I do have the wonderful memory of the smell of Lilacs in the Spring). πŸ™‚

    Stopped by from the #31DBBB at SITS, glad I did. πŸ™‚

    • Beth - Realist Mom June 1, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

      Thank you so much for visiting and posting! That is such a great story about your grandma’s lilacs.

I love to hear from you!

