Picture Book Sunday: What we did all day…

30 May

We had a busy day planned. We needed to do a lot of work around the house.

We needed to do some weeding (actually, a whole lot of weeding) in our garden, which had been overtaken by the scourge known as Bishop’s Weed. You know you’re in trouble when you Google how to get rid of it and the advice is “move”.

Beans got some “assistance”.

We did take time to notice some of the beauty around us. The architectural lupine is one of my favorite perennials.

The kids were getting a little whiny (read: extremely very whiny) working out in the sun, so I gave them a little break and got one of those “meaning to do” projects off my list. I used four of these:

and screwed them into the studs in the kids playroom. I drilled pilot holes first. I’m not one of those people who really get nervous about making holes in the wall. If it doesn’t work out, patching a hole only takes a few minutes. I bought a couple of packs of bungee cords, hooked them to the eyes, hung up some sheets and TA DA! Instant stage/tent/play area or whatever the kids dream of. As I’m writing this, the girls asked if they could sleep up in their new tent. Together. Victory! And, it was a super cheap project. All the supplies cost less than $15.

After some play time, we headed out to Flapper’s soccer game. Probably owing to the holiday weekend, there weren’t too many players on either team – which meant the boys played the entire game. There was much sweating.

After the game, we headed right on over to our favorite spot – the Ice Cream Factory.

All in all, it was a pretty good day. And I’d like to thank the universe for not raining on us. What did you do today?

P.S. I’ll be posting my meatball recipe soon. Thanks for asking for it!

I love to hear from you!

