Say What?!

31 May

I don’t consider myself a prude. In fact, like most moms, I like to think I’m a little bit cool. My kids would certainly disagree with that idea – particularly when I’m doing something especially offensive to their cool meters – like breathing. Or, singing along to the Broadway station on my satellite radio. Loudly. With the windows open. (I’m secretly a gay man trapped in a woman’s body.)

I love to sing along in my car. Most people do, right? Most of the time, I have the radio tuned to Top 20 or Pop music. Sometimes, if the stars are aligned and they aren’t actively hating each other in that moment, the kids will sing along with me. There we are, cruising along, singing a little ditty by Rhianna: “…Cause I may be bad, but I’m perfectly good at it . Sex in the air, I don’t care, I love the smell of it. Sticks and stones may break my bones but chains and whips excite me…” HUH, WHAAAAA??!

And there’s me, diving for the dial. Cue the eye rolls from the back seat.

Again, I’m not prude. I do remember wondering what the hell Salt and Pepa were saying about that bush – really, why would anyone want to get pushed in a bush? (To confuse me even further, on the corner of our block in Brooklyn, there was a house with a tall hedge around it that we kids would push each other into all the time – but I couldn’t believe there would be a song about that!)

On the next station I turned to – Katy Perry and Kanye: “…first, I’ll disrobe ya, then I’m a probe ya…” Seriously. Seriously?

THESE ARE THE SONGS ON THE RADIO!! My seven-year old knows the lyrics!

Apparently, subtlety is a lost art form in the music industry.

So parents, what do you do? No radio? Let them listen, but no singing along? Not worry about it? Let me know. I’ll be listening to my Eminem in private.

5 Responses to “Say What?!”

  1. Rebecca May 31, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    Our modern culture is a pedophile’s dream come true, don’t ya think? 😦

    • Beth - Realist Mom May 31, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

      Yes! It’s scary. I ask the girls what they think those mean – mostly they have no idea, but I don’t want them trying to figure it out.

  2. Sarah May 31, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    When I was 12 my mother bought me a Snoop Dog CD (with the curse words). Twenty years later – I still rock that CD in my CRV (without a toddler), I’m well educated, I have a great job, I’m a good MOM, etc. I’m sure there was something that you listened to that was risky for the time – and if your mom said don’t listen to it, you’d find a way. In the end (and in my opinion) it’s your car. You can turn the station whenever you want because you own it (same goes for your house, etc.). BUT they also need to learn about freedom of speech and when to say something and when not to.

    • cheryl June 1, 2011 at 12:13 am #

      same here. im constantly switching stations “as soon as it gets to the good part.” lately, have been listening to CBS FM—- 80s music has become “oldies” 🙂

    • Beth - Realist Mom June 1, 2011 at 12:59 am #

      @Sarah – I hear you. And you are so right – they would find a way to listen to it. You did turn out fairly well adjusted! @Cheryl – Some songs I do turn right off, it’s not the swearing, it’s the sexual stuff. It’s incredible how graphic a mainstream song can be!

I love to hear from you!

