My Super Fast Stacked Coin Quilt

4 Jun

Whew! I actually got it all done! I guess I can’t be completely impressed with myself since the “baby” this was made for is seven months old now, so this will be more of a play mat than a blanket – but better late than never, right? RIGHT?

I didn’t use any pattern for this quilt, I just sort of winged it. “Winging it” is an overriding theme in my sewing, actually. That’s why I’m a huge fan of pre-cuts. I always feel so intimidated by yardage and FQ’s – all that putting colors together – I find that so challenging. I can do it, don’t get me wrong, but what is easier than ordering a little charm pack and whipping together a super simple quilt in a day (it was really two half days, because a whole day spent sewing is an indulgence my children will not abide – oh, no – they have NEEDS. Like food and stuff.)

I started with a pack of 42 charm squares from Love U. by Deb Strain for Moda. Then I took all the squares and cut them in half into the “coins” keeping an eye on the directional prints. Then I chain pieced them in to pairs that I randomly put together. I really mean randomly – I find I can spend way too much time thinking about pairings if I let myself. I believe they call that over thinking.

For the front of the quilt, I made 3 columns of 21 coins each. Again, randomly. I went with 21 so that the sashing could be cut across the width of the sashing fabric. The sashing strips are 10″ wide on the outside, and 3″ wide on the inside – those are the finished dimensions.

I used the remaining coins to piece the quilt back. Both the backing and the binding fabric came from a crazy super sale at JoAnn’s. The charm pack came from The Fat Quarter Shop, but I don’t see that particular one there anymore.

I pieced the front and the back yesterday in a couple of hours, scribble quilted it this morning before anyone else got up and then stitched down the binding at baseball today while sitting on the bleachers.

This is what was under the bleachers:

Kids and puppies. Does it get any cuter? (The puppy is a little less cute today though, since he chewed the cord off the vacuum cleaner. Luckily, it was unplugged.)

2 Responses to “My Super Fast Stacked Coin Quilt”

  1. Allison June 7, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    I LOVE this! As soon as I finish the quilts I am working on, I have to make one of these. Yours is beautiful!

    Found your blog via the SITS forum and so glad I did – I think we have a lot in common!

    • Beth - Realist Mom June 8, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

      Thanks for visiting. I love your blog. I think we do have quite a bit in common! It’s always nice to meet a kindred spirit!

I love to hear from you!

