Sunday Sweetness: S’more Rice Krispie Treats

5 Jun

I think Sundays are the perfect day for lounging around the house and enjoying family time. Maybe while eating bon bons.

Ha.

Around here, Sundays consist of running to soccer games, more laundry and finishing up homework and last-minute house projects. Sundays already have that little tinge of dread happening, in anticipation of the dreaded Monday so I thought, what better way to counter-act that than by whipping up a special sweet?

My baking record is pretty spotty. I’m good with chocolate chip cookies, most of the time – I just follow the recipe on the Tollhouse bag. There was one truly tragic incident with a chocolate cake on Thanksgiving. The cake was so granular and gritty that it induced the gag response in those unfortunate enough to try a bite, an audience that of course, included my in-laws. It was like watching an accident in slow motion – I ate my bite first, recognized it for the culinary catastrophe that it was in seconds, but wasn’t fast enough in my reaction time to stop the others from suffering the same revolting fate. I imagine that’s what chocolate sand must taste like – if you scraped it off your feet first. It was humiliating and hilarious at the same time. Which, come to think of it, summarizes large portions of my life.

I assume that a domestic goddess has the ability to create mouth-watering delicacies at the wave of a spoon. Me, not so much. But, in my never-ending quest for domestic goddess status, allow me to present the first installment in Sunday Sweetness: S’more Rice Krispie Treats.

These are fairly straightforward to make (perhaps why I started with them?) – you just need to have everything ready to go because you need to work quickly once the marshmallows are smooth. Since half the prep takes place off the cooktop, it’s a great recipe to include the kids on.

S’more Rice Krispie Treats

1/2 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter

1 – 10 oz package of marshmallows

4 cups of Rice Krispies

2 1/2 cups of Golden Graham cereal

1 1/4 cups of chocolate chips

Coat the inside of a 9″ x 13″ baking pan with cooking spray. Heat the butter in a large NON-STICK saucepan over low heat until melted. Add the marshmallows and continue cooking, stirring frequently, until the mixture is smooth. Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the cereal and chips, mixing well. (Try not to crush the Golden Grahams.) Press the mixture into the pan evenly. (I find it easier to do this if my hands are a little wet.) Let mixture cool for at least 20 minutes before cutting into bars.

Recipe adapted from The Only Bake Sale Cookbook You’ll Ever Need by Laurie Goldrich Wolf and Pam Abrams.

These were super easy to make and yummy! The kids gave them two chocolate-covered thumbs up!

I love to hear from you!

