Honest Mommy

13 Jun


Yesterday morning, I lost my cool with my kids.

My husband was out with friends and I was home alone. The morning started with the general bickering that seems to go on nearly constantly among my three children – over critical issues like the choice of cartoon, who gets the juice first and who has the unmitigated nerve to breathe at the wrong moment. It’s not so much the arguing that drives me bananas; it’s the disrespect they show each other. That just set the stage – what finally pushed me over the edge was the clean laundry on the floor of KitKat’s room covered by dirty laundry.

I don’t know about you – but I don’t really enjoy working as a servant. It’s about that respect thing again. It’s one thing to clean up after the normal stuff that goes on in a household with three kids and three dogs, but it is something else to clean up after someone who can’t be bothered to put the washed, sorted and folded clothing into a friggin’ drawer! So yeah, I went a little temporarily crazy. I yelled, I screamed. I actually gathered up all the dirty clothes and threatened to throw them away and picked up all the clean clothes and threatened to put those in the garage sale. I made them all stay in their rooms.

And then I sat in my bathroom and felt guilty.

Here’s what I think: Every mother on the planet has those moments. Parenting is a hard job. Our “clients” are irrational, demanding and really annoying sometimes. They are also amazing and wonderful and the best part of life. It’s just really hard to remember that part when you just stepped on a Lego in bare feet, or when you’ve said something for the 15th time and it still hasn’t gotten done. It doesn’t make you a bad mommy to have a melt down. It just makes you human.

5 Responses to “Honest Mommy”

  1. Bonnie June 13, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    Beautifully written post that every “honest” mom will relate to. Now must adjust the way you went to bathroom and felt GUILTY to I went to the bathroom – read Cosmo and ate a bag of M&Ms.

    • Beth - Realist Mom June 13, 2011 at 8:54 am #

      Bonnie – you always make me smile! Maybe I should hide a bag of M&M’s in there now so I’m prepared for next time!

  2. sassymodernmom June 14, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    Oh I agree with your post 100%!! You know what else I believe? Any Mama who tells you she has never raised her voice, lost her cool, or had a bad Mommy Moment, well she is a big fat liar:)

    PS Love the way you write!

    • Beth - Realist Mom June 15, 2011 at 7:17 am #

      Thank you! It’s true – we all have those days, whether we want to admit it or not.

  3. Wendy D June 22, 2011 at 1:43 am #

    Yes. We do. We ALL absolutely do have those moments. I think they increase proportionally with the number of children we have.
    We can’t beat ourselves up for it. It happens. And I would definitely hide M & M’s in my bathroom (the magazines are already there) but occasionally my middle child sleep walks and forgets where the bathroom is. He’ll pee almost anywhere, I don’t think I would want to eat anything, no matter how well hidden, in there…LOL

I love to hear from you!

