Life is Happening.

21 Jun

I’ve been meaning to let you all know how the garage sell went, and to post something about my Dad for Father’s Day but this little girl is graduating from elementary school tonight and, to compound my anxiety about the evening, I’m also giving a short speech.

My neighbor once told me that in parenting, “the days are long, but the years are short.” She was so right. The 12 years since I gave birth to my amazing first child have flown by. As I was preparing for the garage sale, I found a pair of her socks that she wore all the time – they stretched up to her knees. It seems impossible that those little socks once fit chubby little legs that are now long and coltish. Impossible that the baby whose round little face was the repository of literally thousands of kisses could be thisclose to her teenage years, and everything that goes along with them.

I love my big girl – my first born – and yes, I hope you have the time of your life.

I love to hear from you!

