Grateful for the Crazy

7 Jul

I’ve already told you how I really believe that things happen for a reason – and yesterday was no exception.

I’m really enjoying writing this blog – I love to share – I love to write, so this is really an ideal outlet for me. I have a tendency to dive right into things without taking a breath so I’ve really been trying to do that here. Pause. Consider if I want to move my blog from WordPress.com to my own domain, and then really commit myself to trying to grow this cyber-baby (that sounds creepier than I intended) into something. And then, yesterday, you all know I was featured on the home page of WordPress – which is apparently not random, as I originally thought.

It was crazy. I am not even remotely exaggerating when I tell you that my traffic increased by more than 20-fold. And I liked it. A lot. Early in the day, I was explaining the whole situation to Flapper – “Mommy is getting so much traffic on her blog – look it went up another 200 hits!” And then I had to explain what ‘hits’ are. He was so excited, you’d think I was telling him we were going to get ice cream. All day long he kept asking “how many now?” When we finally go home tonight from our last lacrosse game of the season, he parked himself on the floor next to my desk and kept asking all about blogging and hits and where the people were that were reading what I wrote.

I realize this looks like a crime scene - but Flapper and Nikki actually fell asleep on the floor next to my desk.

Today, a friend shared this quote:

“When you cannot make up your mind which of two evenly balanced courses of action you should take, choose the bolder.” ~ General W.J. Slim; British military commander; 13th Governor-General of Australia.

Universe – I heard you. I’m going bold. And thanks for the push.

2 Responses to “Grateful for the Crazy”

  1. fluffymocchi July 7, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    That is one hilarious picture!! Your blog is an interesting read 🙂

  2. Bonnie July 7, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    I thought of an alternate title for this post:
    “How Number Two made me Number One”

I love to hear from you!

