Small Victories

7 Jul

We’ve been working on this for a while now. There’s been sweat, frustration and yes, even some tears.

But persistence is the key to any endeavor – in other words, my kid is uber-stubborn.

And finally, victory!!

Maybe it was the Big League Chew, maybe he finally figured out how to work around his Chicklet* tooth – we may never know. But Flap was so excited; he suggested I put it on “the internet.” Here you go, Internet.

*When Flap was a toddler he fell with a hard-spouted sippy cup in his mouth – he wasn’t even running with it, he was standing in front of the coffee table and tripped. (He gets his grace from his Dad, obviously.) The cup hit the table and the spout smashed into his gum. It was surprisingly gruesome for an innocent Sesame Street sippy cup – who knew Big Bird had a dark side? The dude needed 7 stitches to put his upper gum back together (which he took like a champ) and we could only hope the baby tooth would hang in there. It did for a little while, but finally had to be pulled after it became abscessed. Now, he has this adult tooth in his mouth – aka Chicklet Tooth.

In other news, I’m as ready as I’ll ever be for the Boilermaker 15K on Sunday. It’s my first race since I tore my MCL and bruised some other parts of my knee skiing in December. Can’t wait! I’ll be sure to post some pictures after the race.

I love to hear from you!

