Sunday Sweetness: Super Easy Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

10 Jul

You’ll notice in this week’s post, there are no pictures of my smiling children. That’s because I sold them they were too busy to help out today – there was a very important Wii game going on, apparently. That’s fine, because, let’s be honest, sometimes things take longer when kids are involved. I’m writing this on Saturday while trying to get too many things done at once: pack Beans for camp, get the house straightened up, finish sewing the binding on Bean’s quilt so she can take it to camp – and did I mention I’m running  The Boilermaker 15K on Sunday?

That’s why this recipe is great. You smush up the bananas, dump all the ingredients in a bowl, mix them up and then stir in the chips. Then bake. That’s it. Which is great, because that’s about all I have time for today!

Super Easy Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup mashed ripe banana (2 to 3 medium)
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • Heat oven to 350°F.
Grease bottom only of 9×5-inch loaf pan. Put all ingredients except chocolate chips and in a large bowl. Blend well, using medium speed. Stir in the chips. Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake 60 to 65 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pan. Cool completely on wire rack.
Full disclosure: I realized as I was typing these ingredients in that I actually used a whole stick of butter instead of a half. (That’s pretty typical of my “cooking.”) So mine was extra rich – but still delicious!
*This post was also featured as one of a bunch of yummy recipes on Sweet as Sugar Cookies!
6 Responses to “Sunday Sweetness: Super Easy Chocolate Chip Banana Bread”

  1. Lisa @ Sweet as Sugar Cookies July 10, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    Quick recipes are always the best, especially when the results are as delicious as this. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till tomorrow night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your banana bread up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/07/sweets-for-saturday-25.html

    • Beth - Realist Mom July 11, 2011 at 11:11 am #

      Thank you! I linked it up and added your link in my post. Thanks for finding me!

  2. Leah July 10, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    This looks really good. I always get tired of the same old banana bread too. Chocolate chips are a nice touch!

    • Beth - Realist Mom July 10, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      Thanks – it’s yummy. And chocolate chips make everything better in my book!

  3. Eirien July 12, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    I love banana bread! My grandmother used to wait till the bananas were all black (and before they spotted white…) before adding them in. It really brought out the banana flavour.

    Thank you for your post! I’m reminded that I haven’t had banana bread in a while. So make I shall!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sunday Sweetness: Banana Crumb Muffins « - November 6, 2011

    […] love to make, and the kids love to eat Chocolate Chip Banana Bread – so I end up making that fairly often. As delicious as it is, I was looking for a little […]

I love to hear from you!

