Sunday Sweetness: S’more Crescent Rolls

24 Jul

Yes. I’m obsessed with S’mores. The first step is admitting you have a problem, right? The second step – in my book – is spending hours on Pinterest checking out what seems like a million versions of this classic treat.

When I saw this on Pinterest via Northern Cottage, I knew I had to give it a shot.

I’m a fan of the crescent roll, because they’re pretty versatile and super-quick. And I’m all about fast and easy. (Like I like my men! Ha. Ha. I crack myself up.) When it’s 100 degrees outside, I am not baking something for an hour. Though I would totally make these for a winter breakfast treat, too.

Are you ready for this crazy ingredient list?

1 cup of mini-marshmallows
2 Hershey Bars
1 tube of crescent rolls

Still with me?

Preheat your oven per the instructions on the tube. Pop open the crescent rolls. Place two chunks of chocolate and about a tablespoon of marshmallows at the wide end. Roll those bad boys up. Bake as instructed.

Hello, yummy. The kids gave these two thumbs up!

The original recipe called for chips – which I was out of – so I used the Hershey bars. When I try this again, I’m going to use the chips – because I think they may melt a little better than the milk chocolate – and a single big marshmallow. I can also imagine using this technique with a zillion other fillings like sauce and mozzarella or ham and cheese.

If you try these, let me know. What else would you put in these bad boys?

6 Responses to “Sunday Sweetness: S’more Crescent Rolls”

  1. Kelly July 24, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    I also use these rolls for just about anything……chopped up ham with chedder works well. I also chop up some chicken and add cream cheese to bind….brush the tops with butter then sprinkle on bread crumb/parm. mixture. Yummy and easy. Why I’ve never thought of sweets before is beyond me but I will be trying these!

    • Beth - Realist Mom July 24, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      Ooooh! I love the idea of sprinkling cheese on them and using meat. Brilliant! I’ll be trying that.

  2. Gianna July 30, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    I made these, and they looked really good when they came out of the oven, but they looked too plain to me. I was wondering what I could do style them up? Then i came up with this: I set them up on a tray and drizzled chocolate,peanut butter,and caramel (all melted) on top. They looked great but i had a lot of left over choc.& P.B. so I took reg. sized marsh-mellows and dipped them in, then added rainbow sprinkles to the top. Now they were done!! (:

    • Gianna July 30, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

      oops!! almost forgot…I placed the marsh-mellows around the tray!! hahaha (:

      • Beth - Realist Mom July 30, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

        That sounds delicious! They do look a bit plain when they’re done – you’re right!

  3. Alaina February 22, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    if you sprinkle them with cinammon and sugar they are even better! Me and my best friend used to make these ALL the time. DELICIOUS! 🙂

I love to hear from you!

