Do I suck?

25 Jul

This was a fortune I got in a leftover fortune cookie. Sooner would be better – I’m just sayin’.

Usually, I reach this point about mid-August. I know I just wrote about how much I’m appreciating my kids and all but…not today. Right at this moment, school can’t start soon enough.

My children Do. Not. Listen. Not to sound like my mother or anything, but I would never have dreamed of flat-out ignoring my parents when they asked me to do something – especially not my father. And yet my kids do. Which of course makes me wonder: do I suck at parenting? I’d like to think I’m honest enough with myself to acknowledge that I’m responsible in some part for the things my kids do. We can’t only take credit for the good stuff, right?

Allow me to submit into evidence the following:

This is Flap and Kitty cleaning the playroom. (And yes, that’s laundry on my dining room table waiting to be folded. Glamorous, I know. And ignore the hideodorous fabric on the chairs – that’s going to get replaced as soon as I can commit to something new.) See how committed they are to the task they’ve been assigned? Sigh.

How do you get your kids to help around the house? Because seriously, I need some pointers.

4 Responses to “Do I suck?”

  1. lovingmissliz7304 July 25, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    I don’t know how to get kids to listen either, but if you find out, please let me know. 🙂

    • Beth - Realist Mom July 25, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

      I sure will – and same to you!!

  2. saramitchell July 25, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    I didn’t start listening to my mom until my mid-twenties, and now I only kind of listen. She’s always right though. I know this, and yet still don’t listen.

    • Beth - Realist Mom July 25, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

      Even at 40, I have a hard time listening to my mom – but I can totally admit she’s usually right! : )

I love to hear from you!

