This fell on our house…

26 Jul

…and I did not like it.

I live in Upstate NY. We’re not prone to crazy summer weather up here. Snowstorms – hell, yes. A foot of snow falling in an hour on Mother’s Day? Yup. Tornados? No. Except today.

There was a tornado warning. The power went out and it got really…windy.

I’m not ashamed to admit I panicked. I rushed all three kids into the dark basement, along with the dogs. Except for Bella – our chicken dog. (Sidebar – she’s a rescue who must have had a bad life before we got her, so she’s terrified of everything.) I had to carry her 60 lb. furry ass down the stairs.

I also could not find the flashlights. Note to self – get new flashlights and put them near the cellar stairs. And don’t let the kids touch them.

Readers, I wish I was also carrying my camera along with the 60 lb. dog, because what I’m about to tell you is a visual – but try and picture it. (Maybe I’m building it up too much – you be the judge.) We have those little windows in the basement that tip in – they’re sunk into window wells. The rain was so intense, the window wells filled up with water and leaves and grass and water started to seep into the basement (awesome). So the kids and I are staring at the window, at the murky water, listening to this act of God going on outside and – smack – this frog slaps up against the window, swimming frantically. We screamed. Mr. Frog was all “WTH is up with this weather?!”

Fine. You had to be there.

And then it was over. Our house was okay  – a few leaks here and there, and I had to bail out the window wells. And save the frog. Three dogs + one frog = fine dining for the dogs.

This is what it did to the weeping willow on the corner:

Am I the only one who feels really badly when things like this happen to trees? This tree survived getting struck by lightning last year – this just seems so…tragic.

The kids did enjoy the new creek outside the house.

*For the record, what went by my house was not a tornado, though there are reports that one passed through the next village over.

5 Responses to “This fell on our house…”

  1. Amy Lamberto July 26, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    lol Beth. That storm we had a few months ago, my window well filled up with water as well. Sadly, my window did not hold the water back, and a torrent of water poured into my basement. My husband is shouting “oh my God, what do we do?” What can you do? Nothing. Let it pour in and get the mop ready.

    • Beth - Realist Mom July 26, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

      Somewhere, I have the pictures of when that happened in my basement. What was worse is that my sewing room was in the basement at the time. I was a maniac running everything up to the dining room!

  2. Judi July 26, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    You’re not the only one who gets upset when a tree is destroyed in a storm. They work so hard to survive and in an instant they’re history! I’m also thankful when they do come down that no one is hurt in the process.

  3. K8tilyn August 2, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    i’ve just found your blog.. it is wonderful.. i’m loving your stories. & i loved the whole basement/dog/frog incident. i can just picture it.. you are truely blessed 😉

    • Beth - Realist Mom August 2, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

      Thank you so much – truly, the frog thing was crazy! So glad you’re here!

I love to hear from you!

