Winging it with Kids

3 Aug

As we covered yesterday, sometimes my spontaneous plans for fun don’t turn out to be…actual fun. Except fun for me – because like most parents, I revel in my children’s misery. Ask them, they’ll tell you. Which is why today was a pleasant surprise.

I’ve noticed that when I do a lot of planning around an activity, I take it very personally when my little angels whine and moan about it. I’m sensitive like that. As a result, I’ve decided to just wing it. I realize that’s a bit easier for me, because my youngest is already 7 – so I’m not worried about diapers or feedings or naps like those of you with little ones – that does tend to put a crimp in one’s spontaneity, on so many levels. It can be done – there just needs to be a bit more planning.

There’s something about children when they first wake up that makes them so adorable – maybe it’s the bed head or their pajamas. (Maybe it’s some kind of evolutionary advantage to protect them from mommies that haven’t had their coffee yet. Maybe.) I wrangled all that cuteness into clothes – reminded them to brush their hair and teeth and got on the road. The first stop was the bagel shop for breakfast (and my coffee) and then we headed down to the Willowvale Town Park.

I can tell you that on the way over we already had bickering in the back seat, lest you think it was all cuteness and bed head  – as usual, it was especially heated between Kitty and Flap. I apologize for not being able to remember which blog I picked this up from (whoever you are – Thank. You.) but I’ve borrowed a new strategy for dealing with their disrespect: I make them hold hands for 5 minutes. If either of them squeezes the other’s hand too hard – another 5 minutes. Let me tell you something – it is so effective. 4 minutes into their “punishment”, they were laughing together. Can’t beat that.

We sat on the bank of the creek at the park and enjoyed our breakfast and talked. We talked about silly things: what the dogs think about while we’re out, about their days, about swimming. That was so…fantastic. There are few things that bring more joy to a mom’s soul than her kids being together and laughing together.  They then spent the next hour wading in the creek even though they were completely inappropriately attired. (Winging it!!) I tried to keep myself from falling in while taking pictures. Just to keep me from being too blissed out, what must have been a fleet of biting insects blitzkrieged my ass and foot. I must have gotten 20 bites in 6 seconds flat. I still can’t figure out how they were so coordinated. Do bugs have teeny tiny cell phones? Was it a buggy flash mob?

Every town has a little gem like this park – you just have to get out there and go for it. I’d been to this park before, but always with a “plan” – but it wasn’t until today that I really appreciated how beautiful it is. And how sweet three kids wading in a stream can be. It was only a couple of hours out of our day, but by the time we left, three kids wet and happy, the day was off to a great start. I swear the sky was little bluer for the rest of the day. Okay, I made that last part up.

Is there somewhere in your town you’ve been meaning to explore? May I suggest you just try winging it? It may work out better than you expected.

4 Responses to “Winging it with Kids”

  1. Eric DelaBarre August 3, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Love this! I am discovering how to wing it with my 10 week old, adapting my book for a film shoot next summer, and yeah…being a husband, friend, son, and all that.

    • Beth - Realist Mom August 3, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

      Wow! You really have your hands full!

  2. skippitydo August 3, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Love this! For my fam, most times winging it ends up being more fun than me carefully planning an outing. Go figure. 😉

    • Beth - Realist Mom August 3, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

      I’m going to persist in my “winging” and hope they all work out as well as this one did! Thanks for reading my blog!

I love to hear from you!

