Sunday Sweetness: Cinnamon Streusel Blueberry Scones

7 Aug

Scones. It sounds so elegant, doesn’t it? And I love me some Jane Austen, so I feel like I should love scones. Alas, every scone I’ve ever eaten ran the risk of taking out a tooth – and I haven’t spent all that time brushing and flossing to lose one of my pearly whites to a…is it a pastry, technically? Biscuit? At any rate, after we had all that fun picking blueberries I wanted to try my hand at a scone. Primarily because the hubby loves himself some scones and so does my father-in-law. They are both big lovers of the blueberry.

The sacrifices I make.

I turned to Google and found this great recipe via Joy of Baking.

Best. Scones. Ever.

My husband loved them. My father-in-law loved them. Even my mother loved them – and that’s saying something! They weren’t little rocks – they were soft in the middle with a little crunch from the streusel. Heaven.

Cinnamon Streusel Blueberry Scones

(adapted  – a little – from Joy of Baking)
Makes 8 scones.

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup granulated white sugar
2 tsp baking powder
6 tbsp unsalted butter, chilled
1 cup blueberries
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk or cream (I used half skim milk and half heavy cream)

To brush on scones:

2 tbsp milk or cream

Cinnamon Streusel:

1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tbsp unsalted butter, chilled and cut into pieces

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment.

In a large bowl, whisk together the dry scone ingredients. Cut the butter into small pieces and blend into the dry ingredients with a pastry cutter or a fork until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. (Resist the temptation to use your hands, you don’t want to warm the butter.) Gently fold in the blueberries. In a small bowl, combine the cream (or milk), beaten egg and vanilla. Add to the flour mixture and stir just until the dough comes together. Do not overmix.

Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface and knead the dough gently 4 or 5 time and then pat the dough into a circle that is about 7″ round and 1 1/2″ thick. Cut this circle in half and then cut the halves into 4 wedges. (Like cutting pizza!) Place the scones on the baking sheet and brush with milk.

For the Cinnamon Streusel:

In a small bowl, whisk together the sugar, flour and cinnamon. With a pastry blender or fork, cut in the butter until crumbly. (I like chunky streusel, so I went with big crumbs.) Top each scone with streusel.

Bake the scones until browned, about 18-22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. (I hate the word “inserted” – can we agree to say “stuck in” from now on?) Cool on a wire rack. Eat.

Even the dude liked them!

(You may notice in the pictures that I doubled the recipe – these are great to share!)

Let me know if you try these – you won’t be disappointed!

If you enjoyed this post, you may want to check out the rest of the Sunday Sweetness posts here.

2 Responses to “Sunday Sweetness: Cinnamon Streusel Blueberry Scones”

  1. Leah August 7, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    I am SO making these! I love scones, especially ones with cinnamon. Yum!

    • Beth - Realist Mom August 7, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

      They were seriously delicious. When my uber-picky Mom likes something – it’s good! Let me know how they turn out for you, Leah.

I love to hear from you!

