He Gets That From Me

16 Aug

When I was a little girl, we really didn’t have very much money – so shopping was a huge deal and something we did exactly once a year: before school started. There were no impromptu trips to the mall or anything like that. We shopped once, and usually at Century 21. When I had a baby girl, and then another, I looked forward to being able to provide them with something I never had: clothing that wouldn’t get them made fun of. Someday, when I’m feeling supremely confident, I’ll post some pictures of some of the stellar ensembles (and hairstyles) I sported. My “awkward phase” lasted from when I was 7 until…last week sometime.

Anywhoozle.

Imagine my dismay when I discovered that my daughters have virtually no interest in shopping and really couldn’t care less about how they look. Yes, I know – confidence, good for them – but I HAD A DREAM, people!

But then I had my son. The Dude. Even as a toddler he would immediately notice a new purse or bracelet you might be sporting. At 3, he loved to help coordinate looks at the mall, gleefully carrying handbags over to tops, shoes over to dresses – whatever caught his eye. Once, in Macy’s, he literally launched himself out of his stroller, kicked off his sneakers and tried on candy apple red patent leather platform heels. And then walked around in them for about 10 minutes.

He’s always had a soft spot for shoes. To this day, I can bribe him with a trip to the shoe department.

Last Friday, we had a special moment – one that can only be shared between a mother and her son. I introduced him to Zappos.com. Two hours later, after narrowing it down from about a dozen to 4, he finally settled on 2 pairs of sneakers for school. Because a guy has got to look good for second grade. I explained that the magical Zappos would deliver the shoes on Monday.

The first words out of his mouth today were: “My shoes are coming today!”

He then proceeded to stalk the UPS man. He would have stayed on the driveway all day if I didn’t force him inside when it started to rain. I had to tear him away from the window where he had positioned himself with legos to pass the time to eat lunch – because I’m mean like that.

Lunch went like this: chew, chew, “Is he here yet?” Bite, chew, “Is he here yet?”

Suddenly, the herald angels sang and lo – The Shoe Fairy arrived in his big brown truck (and little brown shorts, but that’s another story)!

What can I tell you? The Dude loves his shoes. I’m pretty sure he gets that from me.

Do your kids obsess over a particular type of clothing? Or are they in the “Don’t Really Care” camp, too?

2 Responses to “He Gets That From Me”

  1. Adam Lawless August 16, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Words cannot explain how much I love this post. I’m not sayin’… but I’m sayin’ this is TOTALLY me when I was his age. I used to sit on my mother’s bed in the morning helping her pick out her outfit for work. Shoes, slacks, blouse, necklace, earrings – the whole deal. But clothes were just a sideshow for my true fascination… HAIR! I loved watching her do her hair. My grandmother was a hairdresser as are many members of my family. I still think I missed my calling. Now, I just settle for doing friends hair for big events… or just on Tuesdays when I have my weekly “date night” with my friend Jill. LONG story short, LOVE THIS POST! You have three amazing kids. But, as I’ve said, The Dude is my favorite!

    • Beth - Realist Mom August 16, 2011 at 11:10 am #

      Thank you Adam! He is an experiment in contradiction – sensitive and sweet, but perfectly willing to kick butt at hockey or football. Thanks for taking the time to comment!

I love to hear from you!

