I’ll take “Things in the Downspout” for $200, Alex.

28 Sep

This story does not start off delicately. Sorry.

I was on the toilet. There, I said it. Let’s move on – shall we?

Next to the toilet is a window, and through that window I could hear a scratching that was unmistakably rodent in origin. Of course, like the first victim in a horror movie, I had to know what was making that noise.

Here is what I found:

Nondescript fur that was clearly breathing very heavily due to the exertion of trying to climb the 5 or so feet back to the roof where he or she had fallen into the downspout. You can sort of see it in the uppermost hole to the left. How did the holes get there? That would be my dogs – trying to get to a previous rodent.

Let me be clear – I’m not entirely PETA friendly – I love me a burger. When there were mice in my cellar – sorry but, BUH-bye now. BUT. I can’t stand to see an animal suffer. (Yes, I know, the burgers and the cows, but that’s not in my downspout.)

And so:

You’ll notice in this next clip, that the more I interact with my Mom, the more pronounced my Brooklyn accent becomes. I never realized that until I heard it in this video.

Saving lives and trashing homes. All in a day’s work when you’re the Mom.

Do you have any wildlife tales to share?

P.S. This post marks my very first video upload. I’m a little excited.

3 Responses to “I’ll take “Things in the Downspout” for $200, Alex.”

  1. Jen September 28, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    Ok, 1) I almost peed my pants when you chastised your Mom, and 2) why oh why are your feet bare?! You crazy, girl.
    PS – so happy to have you back 🙂

    • Beth - Realist Mom September 28, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

      Can you hear her providing instruction the entire time?! And my feet (and giant toes) are bare because the dogs have eaten all my flip flops! : )

  2. Suzanne Loughlin September 29, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    @Jen, I was thinking the exact same thing…toes and then MOM! Brooklyn accent and all. Thanks Beth, you made me laugh.

I love to hear from you!

