Sunday Sweetness: Peanut Butter Cup Bars

9 Oct

I have a little issue with cookbooks. As in, I love cookbooks. As in, I can stroll over to the cookbook aisle at our local bookstore and before you can say “Barefoot Contessa” an hour has gone by.

Last week, I was in search of some dessert inspiration and came across The Ultimate Cake Mix Cookie Book.

The Ultimate Cake Mix Cookie Book

I’m all for different desserts that are easy to make, so I brought it home (where it made friends with all my other cookbooks).

Here’s an adaptation of the first recipe I tried:

Peanut Butter Cup Bars

Makes 3 dozen bars.

1 (18.25 oz) pkg yellow or chocolate cake mix
1/3 cup butter, melted
1/4 cup chunky peanut butter
2 eggs
20 miniature peanut butter cups, coarsely chopped
1 cup peanut butter chips

Chef Kitty unwrapping 20 peanut butter cups.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 13 x 9 baking pan.

Mix the cake mix, melted butter, and eggs in a large bowl with a wooden spoon until blended (mixture will be stiff). Stir in the peanut butter cups and chips. Spread mixture evenly into pan. (I found it easier to use my fingers to work the mixture into the pan.) Bake for 18-22 minutes or until brown. Transfer to wire rack and cool completely. Cut into bars.

Serve with a glass of milk!

These got two thumbs up from the kids.

I love to hear from you!

