Sunday Sweetness: Pumpkin Apple Bread

16 Oct

Pumpkin Bread

I’m a hoarder. Of canned pumpkin. Right now, there are 8 cans of pumpkin in my pantry – and I (gasp) didn’t even have a coupon. It goes back to the year there was a pumpkin shortage right around Thanksgiving and you couldn’t get a can of pumpkin to save your life.

The Great Pumpkin Shortage of 2009.

There’s something about the fall that absolutely necessitates baking something with pumpkin that preferably includes nutmeg. It smells so delicious baking that it allows me to feel like a domestic goddess – if just for a moment. So having enough pumpkin is really important.

This recipe comes from The Gourmet Cookbook by Ruth Reichl. It’s delicious. And, as a bonus, the recipe makes two loaves so you can share one – which makes me feel even more domestic goddess-y. The bread is so moist and the cinnamon streusel topping adds just the right bit of crunch. Honestly, when doesn’t cinnamon streusel make things better?

Try this recipe. You will thank me – I promise.

Pumpkin Apple Bread ingredients

Pumpkin Apple Bread  (Adapted from The Gourmet Cookbook)

Makes 2 – 9 x 5 inch loaves

For the bread:

3 cups flour
3/4 tsp salt
2 tsps baking soda
1 1/2 tsps ground cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp ground allspice
1 – 15 oz can of solid-pack pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
3/4 cup vegetable oil
2 1/4 cups sugar
4 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and chopped (2 cups)

For the streusel:

1 tbs flour
5 tbs sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tbs unsalted butter, softened

Butter 2 loaf pans. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

To make the streusel: Place all ingredients in a small bowl and mix together with your fingers until it looks like coarse crumbs.

To make the bread: Sift together all dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Whisk together pumpkin, oil, sugar, and eggs in a large bowl. Add flour mixture, stirring until well combined. Fold in apples. Divide the batter between the two loaf pans. Sprinkle half of the streusel on each loaf. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of the bread comes out clean, about 50 to 60 minutes.

Pumpkin Apple Bread - streusel topping

Allows loaves to cool, and then turn out onto rack to cool completely, about 1 hour.

We generally eat this by itself but if you’re feeling really wild and crazy, try serving it warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

If you try this – let me know – or, even better, post a picture on Facebook!

Hope you had a great weekend!

3 Responses to “Sunday Sweetness: Pumpkin Apple Bread”

  1. Leah October 16, 2011 at 1:37 am #

    Wow, this looks so amazing! I love the idea of combining pumpkin and apple and the spices. I’m for sure making this soon. And I’m a pumpkin hoarder too. Something about the cans of organic pumpkin that come out in the fall — just makes me want to stock up likes there’s no tomorrow (or pumpkins).

    • Beth - Realist Mom October 16, 2011 at 7:44 am #

      I’m glad to know I’m not the only one stocking up on pumpkin!! Let me know when you give this a try – you will love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sunday Sweetness: Easy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins « - October 23, 2011

    […] love making things with pumpkin in the fall. Last week, we made my all time favorite Pumpkin Apple Bread so I thought this week, we’d go with something pretty simple. To prove my point, my […]

I love to hear from you!

