I’m A Banana.

26 Oct

I would love for you to be reading a totally awesome and witty blog post right now. You’re not. Would you like to know why?

In my house, silence is interpreted as a sign to talk. And bark. And even though you’re 7, edit what I’m trying to write. Or, if you’re 11, insist that I watch an inane You Tube video of a singing banana.

These are the things that have gone on in my house in the last 60 minutes, while I tried to write a brilliant post for you:

1. Flap threw himself off my bed onto the floor and then proceeded to yell at me because he was “really hurt.” This was before his miracle recovery when he discovered his missing Lego book.

2. The Beans pulled out her 3rd tooth in 2 days. I can only assume she’s doing it as some sort of financial planning endeavour.

3. All 3 dogs ran laps through the house that included running up and over my bed – except for Charlie, who requires a stool to get on my bed. Even though he’s big enough to jump on. He just chooses not to.

4. Kitty suddenly “remembered” homework she “forgot” she needed to do.

5. The puppy attempted to eat an Ugg boot, a roll of toilet paper and a hockey puck. Not at the same time.

6. There have been 2 sibling squabbles that resulted in Kitty being excused from the room.

7. I folded a load of towels.

Welcome to my world.

4 Responses to “I’m A Banana.”

  1. gracelandjenn October 26, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    Oh, goodness! This sounds like my home! I am trying to enact an “If Momma’s fingers are touching or hovering over the keyboard, you may not speak because Momma can’t think and listen to you at the same time” rule. So far, it’s not panning out.

    • Beth - Realist Mom October 26, 2011 at 6:50 am #

      Lol! I was just about to ask how you got kids to follow that rule!! Why are moms so much more interesting to kids when we’re doing something?

      Thanks for your thoughts!

  2. applec October 27, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Hey! I used to do that throw myself on the bed (I think for me it was the floor) in front of my mother because she didn’t realize that the spider really did bite me, or my toe really did get hurt running down the hall. Why don’t mom’s catch on that things hurt a lot more than they seem?!!! 😉

    We DO have a friend with the initials BF in common. She is one terrific gal. Does B EVER stop smiling?! What a beautiful person she is.

    I liked you on Facebook and will follow your tweets. Support local bloggers! 🙂

    • Beth - Realist Mom October 27, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

      LOL! He just throws himself on the floor for kicks – but sometimes he really does get hurt. Once, I broke my foot as a kid, and my mom didn’t believe me – until the x-rays the next day!

      She’s one of the most amazing people I know – I’m so proud to count BF among my dear friends! And, no, she never stops smiling!

      I just followed you on Twitter and liked you, too – been loving your blog for a while now!
      Thanks for the support!

I love to hear from you!

