She gets that from her father.

28 Oct

I like to think that I inherited my love of all things chocolate from my father, along with my insatiable need to figure things out. I know I inherited my height from him – and my exceptionally long toes. This may sound completely…inappropriate, but I remember during one of my last visits with him, when he was only moderately lucid and confined to bed, that I stood there and looked at his feet for a long time and realized that every time I look at my giant feet, with their super long second toes and bunions, I’ll think of my dad. And I do.

I have my father’s feet.

As a parent, I think we stake claim to a part of our kids’ special talents. “Kitty’s singing, oh, she gets that from me!” or “Flap’s great at math, just like his dad.” What I’ve noticed most often though, is that the little angels have also inherited some of our most annoying less appealing quirkier personality traits. For example, Beans, my outspoken middle child, will stage full-on Broadway musicals up in her room, complete with dance numbers and props – all by herself. I totally remember doing that as a kid – I can’t tell you how many songs I sang into a spoon or hairbrush. She has a sweet tooth that would make Milton Hershey weep with joy. My oldest daughter sleeps with the blanket wrapped right up to her ears, on her belly and always with her feet covered – presumably so the ghosts can’t see her. At least that’s why I did it. Flap has a tendency toward the overly dramatic. I have no idea where he gets that from.

My husband has what I consider an unusual aversion to certain textures and sensations. For example, he can’t eat tomatoes in a salad, but is fine with salsa. He will not eat broccoli. If I want him to give me a little space at the bathroom sink, all I need to do is get my hair gel out, squirt some into my hands and voila! Bathroom to myself! Kitty is exactly the same way. Rubbing on sunscreen gives her the heebie jeebies, as does any kind of topical ointment. (Frankly, I can’t wait until she has kids – I think I’ll be spending a lot of my time laughing my ass off.)

Recently, Kitty needed to have drops put in her ear to soften and clear out ear goobers. The stuff is basically a mix of oil and hydrogen peroxide – so it bubbles a bit. All she needed to do was stay still for about 2 minutes and then you’re supposed to use a little squirty thing to wash it all out. Easy peasy. Except she reacted like I was putting a live insect in her ear like some Survivor challenge. She whined. She grimaced. She squirmed. I think she lasted about 45 seconds. Fun was had by all.

And then today, hubby needed the same thing. Guess what? Same reaction with a slight adjustment to the whine/grimace ratio.

At least Kitty can say she comes by it honestly.

Along with her giant toes.

What do you and your kids have in common?

4 Responses to “She gets that from her father.”

  1. Leah October 28, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    I love this post. Isn’t it funny how you can see yourself and your spouse in your kid? Sophie definitely has my husband’s keen focus. If they’re doing something, all else is tuned out. Yet she has my assertive side (i.e. both of us have no problem requesting samples from Costco) or asking for what we want. And what’s really nice is what all three of us have in common — we like to sleep in, chill out on weekends with books and movies, and we’re all night owls.

    • Beth - Realist Mom October 28, 2011 at 6:55 am #

      Thanks Leah! I definitely focus the same way Sophie and your hubby do. It sounds like you have the ideal combination of traits in common – weekends sound like a great time at your house!

  2. applec October 28, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    I don’t have any kids, ummm…does a dog count? He’s kind of my kid? He likes to be fussed and his back and belly rubbed. (Embarrassed to say…) He gets that from me 🙂

    I can honestly say I am like my dad. I have endless energy and an over active mind, always looking for new ways to challenge myself.
    My texture “deal” is shammy cloths – the kind you use to wash the car? I can NOT stand the feel of those when they get wet.
    As for food, if I am super hungry and I eat something soft such as cheese or mushrooms, I get sick to my stomach. How weird we are!

    • Beth - Realist Mom October 28, 2011 at 11:25 am #

      Everybody has their “weird” – wet paper makes me gag. If I have to pick up a wet piece of paper for some reason, my gag reflex gives me about 6 seconds to get it off me or else. Gives me the willies just thinking about it!

      I find I get sick to my stomach if I eat anything after a tough run – but there’s probably an explanation for that!

I love to hear from you!

