Keep Calm and Shut the F@#! Up.

29 Oct

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ve seen the “Keep Calm and Carry On” posters based on a little used British poster from WWII. Unless you’ve been under an even larger rock – you’ve seen what seems like a million variations on that theme. Some are witty and clever and some…not so much.

Either way, like Paris Hilton and the Jonas Brothers, it gets old. The more I see “Keep Calm and Get a Kitten” posters, the less I care about the original. Maybe that’s not fair, but it’s true. And if something is less awesome the second time around, it’s exponentially less cool the fiftieth.

Same thing goes for (Insert Literary Classic Here) and (Insert Scary Thing Here). Once they did Pride and Prejudice and Zombies – I think most of us can figure out what Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters is going to be like. Or Jane Slayre. Or Alice in Zombieland. (For the record, I’m too much of an Austen lover to read that book – I don’t really want to know if Wickham eats one of the Bennett’s girls brains. I don’t even want the visual in my head.)

I know fashion recycles, interior design recycles, movies recycle (let’s not even talk about the potential remake of Dirty Dancing, becasue that is just wrong) – everything comes around again. But there’s recycling and then there’s RECYCLING. Out of courtesy, at least wait a decade before you retread an idea and call it your own.

WIth all this said, imagine my chagrin when I saw an ad for this book:

If You Give A Kid A Cookie, Will He...Image via Amazon.com

They actually had to clarify that it wasn’t by the folks that wrote Go The F@?# to Sleep. If the first line of an ad for your product has to point out that you are NOT another product, you might want to pause a moment – because the rest of us just hear “we didn’t come up with this, but we thought we might be able to make a dime by doing absolutely nothing differently.”

You know why sequels are never as good as the original? Because the schtick – whatever it is – is never as funny, or scary, or original the second time around.

What’s next? Oh, The Places You’ll Go, if You Can Get a F@?#ing Job? Or The Giving Tree is F@?#ing Sick of Your Whining?

I’m over it. How about you?

4 Responses to “Keep Calm and Shut the F@#! Up.”

  1. Michelle October 29, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    I must be living under a rock because I have never heard of any of those “keep calm…” sayings. Of course I have seen “Go the F@?# to sleep” story. Can’t imagine who came up with that one.

    • Beth - Realist Mom October 29, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

      You’ve never seen them anywhere?? Wow. I bet you just walked right past them!

      I think all parents have shared the sentiment in the first book – we just never thought to write it down!

  2. joanne October 29, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Nothing with a title that hints at the uneducated use of the English language attracts my attention much less my money. I abhor the fact that today’s society feels the need to inject bad language in everything from movies to books.
    I realize this is not your main point but the caricatures coupled with hinting at the “F” word makes me bristle because it does catch a kids eye. I just can’t get over that one. It’s probably my up tight English upbringing. I’m a prude.
    About sequels, I’m with you, do it once with success. Yay! The second time around, you’ll probably get attention if the first was a hit due to curiousity but the majority won’t be pleased. šŸ™‚
    Very thought provoking post Beth.

    • Beth - Realist Mom October 29, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

      Thanks Joanne. Didn’t you get the memo? Profanity passes as humor now. Personally, while I certainly don’t consider myself conservative, I much prefer smart humor to profane. : )

I love to hear from you!

