Sunday Sweetness: Easy Amish Cinnamon Chip Bread

30 Oct

Amish Cinnamon Chip Bread

When someone in an Amish costume serves you a piece of ridiculously delicious cinnamon chip bread, you ask for the recipe. A day or two later, and my lovely friend texted me the recipe for this bread – which is “bread” in the spirit of zucchini bread or banana bread.

Truth be told, I was little suspicious about the recipe because a) it was texted to me, which somehow seems a little imprecise for a recipe b) I did not expect a recipe called Amish to contain pudding mix and c) it all goes down in one bowl – basically, you just plop the ingredients in the bowl and stir.

Why is it called Amish? No clue. Upon Googling, I did find this recipe for Amish Friendship Bread – which lo and behold, contains pudding mix as well. That’s what I get for judging a recipe by it’s name.

This bread came out very well in spite of my mood: I made Ina Garten’s Roasted Potato Leek Soup today – my favorite soup. After two hours of cooking, I ladled it into a tupperware so I could put it in the refrigerator but when I turned my back for 2 minutes, the dogs had gotten the tupperware off the counter and eaten nearly the entire container. Hours of cooking negated by 3 piggy dogs. Suffice it to say, I was a little bit grumpy.

Amish Cinnamon Chip Bread

Makes 2 loaves.

1 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla
3 large eggs
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
2 1/2 c flour
1 1/4 c milk
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 pkg vanilla instant pudding
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/3 cup cinnamon chips

Amish Cinnamon Chip Bread

Notice my phone in the lower right corner. I was reading the recipe from my text messages!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour two 9 x 5 loaf pans.

 Combine oil, sugar, vanilla, eggs, salt and cinnamon and mix well. Add flour, milk, baking soda, baking powder and pudding mix. Mix well. Pour into two large loaf pans. (Sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar, if desired.)

Bake at 350 degrees for 50-55 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Even though I was on my own making this, it would be a great recipe to do with kids – it’s easy and they can just mix and mix in the one bowl.

What did you bake, if anything, this week?

10 Responses to “Sunday Sweetness: Easy Amish Cinnamon Chip Bread”

  1. Leah October 30, 2011 at 12:44 am #

    Okay, first of all, I would murder my dogs if they ate that soup. That is my favorite soup too. And second, that bread looks so good. I was given one of those Amish bread mixes once but I never used it because it seemed suspicious. But I hear it’s delicious. And I love anything with cinnamon chips. Will try your recipe soon.

    • Beth - Realist Mom October 30, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

      Oh, I flipped out – believe me!

      After I Googled Amish bread, I saw that whole thing about the friendship bread. I read a book somewhere along the road that talked about bread starters, but I can barely remember to water my plants much less take care of a starter for 10 days!

      Let me know if you make the bread.

  2. Michelle October 30, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    That looks delicious! Email me the recipe. I have the recipe for the friendship bread if you are interested. This recipe though you have to keep out on your counter for I think 10 days and keep adding ingredients as you go. It is really good!!

    • Beth - Realist Mom October 30, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

      Thanks Michelle! I may have to get that from you – though I’m not sure I could remember to take care of the starter!! Thanks for reading!

      • Michelle October 30, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

        Rach really enjoyed taking care of it for the 10 days. Maybe Beans would like to take care of it for you.

  3. applec October 31, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Uh Oh – did the dogs have a tummy ache after the soup? Shane can reach anything on the counter but oddly enough, food is not motivation for him to go stealing. If I ever put one of his play toys on the counter – that would be another story.

    I absolutely love the sound of that bread. Sweet breads are the best.
    Happy Halloween! 🙂

    • Beth - Realist Mom October 31, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

      Happy Halloween to you too! I don’t think I’ve ever had a lab that didn’t steal food if the opportunity presented itself – it’s only varied by the degree of daring!

      Thanks for commenting!

  4. Alison Kenney November 3, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    I would love to make this bread but I can’t find cinnamon chips any where!

    • Beth - Realist Mom November 3, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

      They are tough to find! Mine were on a separate little Hershey’s display at the front of the store. Good luck!

      • Alison Kenney December 6, 2011 at 9:13 am #

        I finally saw them and bought two bags! I’m determined to try this!

I love to hear from you!

