Sunday Sweetness: Banana Crumb Muffins

6 Nov

Banana Crumb Muffin

I really don’t like to waste food. That is not to say that food doesn’t get a chance to spoil around here, because believe me, it does and much of it tends to be produce – particularly fruit. Our family tends to have phases with fruit where we either eat it all the time, or we just don’t. Since bananas are always on my shopping list, they can almost always be found languishing in our fruit bowls lending that odd smell to the kitchen that’s half sweet – half icky. Fortunately, even as they near the end of the line – you can make them into something yummy. Trying doing that with a past-its-prime orange!

I love to make, and the kids love to eat Chocolate Chip Banana Bread – so I end up making that fairly often. As delicious as it is, I was looking for a little variety and something we could eat on the go, while we’re racing out the door to whichever activity is on the schedule. After a little consultation with Chef Google, I found this very easy recipe for Banana Crumb Muffins on AllRecipes.com. I made them in a jiffy, and used up 3 of the bananas in the process. (Yes, I did just use ‘jiffy’ in a sentence – don’t judge!)

Muffin Ingredients

Banana Crumb Muffins

Recipe adapted from this one on AllRecipes.com

For the Muffins:
1 1/2 c all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 bananas, mashed
3/4 c white sugar
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/3 c butter, melted

For the Crumb Topping:
1/3 c packed brown sugar
2 tbsp all-purpose flour
1/8 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tbsp butter

Muffins:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Prepare standard cupcake/muffin pan by greasing or lining 12 cups.  In a large bowl, mix together 1 1/2 c flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. In another bowl, beat together bananas, sugar, egg and melted butter. Stir the banana mixture into the flour mixture just until moistened. Fill prepared cupcake/muffin cups 2/3 full with batter.

Topping:
In a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, 2 tbsp flour and cinnamon. Cut in 1 tablespoon butter with your fingers until mixture resembles coarse cornmeal. Sprinkle approximately 1 generous tsp of topping over each muffin.

Bake in preheated oven for 16 to 18 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of a muffin comes out clean.

These were very good and banana-y. (I make up my own words – see?) The crumb topping adds just the right touch of sweetness and crunch. Within 5 minutes of putting these on a rack to cool, 4 were gone. I call that an endorsement! If you wanted to, you could also add some chopped walnuts to these and they would be that much better.

I hope you’re enjoying your weekend. I’m back to stripping the wallpaper off the dining room walls for a little Thanksgiving makeover. I’ll post pictures when we’re finished.

Do you have a favorite muffin? What is it?

One Response to “Sunday Sweetness: Banana Crumb Muffins”

  1. healtharticlesdatabase January 2, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    This is a very moist & tasty recipe. My 1 year old is allergic to eggs, so I omitted the egg…

I love to hear from you!

