Sunday Sweetness: Super Easy Oreo Bombs

3 Jul

These are just so…wrong. Oreos are my downfall. Honestly, I try not to even buy them because I can finish a row out of the package faster than you can say “Weight Watchers wha?!”

However. A friend, whose excellent cooking skills are apparently committed to getting me over my absolute loathing of cream cheese, brought these over for our little True Blood premiere party. They were almost as delicious tasting as Alex Skarsgaard is delicious looking. I knew I had to share. And readers, they take only three ingredients. Three.

I assure you, if you bring these to the next pot-luck you’re invited to – people will think you are a culinary genius.

Super Easy Oreo Bombs

1 – 16 oz package of Oreo’s
1 – 16 oz package of semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 – 8 oz block of cream cheese, softened

My little chef had a great time making these today. I'm not sure if he's cute enough, though.

Crush 9 of the cookies to fine crumbs in food processor – set aside. (Cookies can also be crushed in a resealable plastic bag using a rolling pin.) Crush the remaining 36 cookies to fine crumbs and place in large bowl. Add cream cheese and mix until well blended.

Roll cookie mixture into 42 balls, about 1-inch in diameter.

Melt the chips in a heat-proof bowl set over simmering water, or a double boiler. Dip balls in chocolate and place on wax paper-covered baking sheet. Sprinkle with reserved cookie crumbs.

Refrigerate until firm, about 1 hour. Makes sure you store these bad boys in the fridge in a sealed container.

If you try these, let me know!!

4 Responses to “Sunday Sweetness: Super Easy Oreo Bombs”

  1. Allison July 3, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    Yum!

    • Beth - Realist Mom July 3, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

      They are so right, they’re wrong! : )

  2. Joyce Leung July 13, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    Yay! I made these last night for my boyfriend’s poker night.

    Basically it was gone within 20 mins!! It was a big hit and everyone loved it… (and demanded more)

    I’m going to make more using Oreo double stuffed!

    • Beth - Realist Mom July 13, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

      That’s great! He’ll probably want to marry you now! : )

I love to hear from you!